Talking Heads: “Remain in Light”

My friend Torben recommended me this: Talking Heads – Remain in Light. It’s really good.

I’ve listened a lot to Talking Heads, but only rarely to full albums. Of course I knew the single “Once In A Lifetime” (which is awesome), but there’s a lot of good stuff on this album, produced by Brian Eno – who else? – who helped so many stars, but never became one himself. I think his importance will only grow over time (for example, check out the ambient sonics on “Seen and Not Seen” on Remain and compare with with the textures on U2’s “The Unforgettable Fire“).

Can’t say I’ve listened to it enough yet. Will do, and luckily it is also on the list of 1001albums I’m going through to expand my horizon (ever expanding, never ending, quite exhausting).

Surprisingly, it took a lot of work finding the video for “Once In A Lifetime”, but I finally found a bad quality version on Dailymotion. It made a big impression on me when I saw it first, a long, long time ago. David Byrne at his finest, both as a songwriter and performer. Actually I think you can see an bespectacled echo of him in Familjen’s “Det Snurrar I Min Skalle“, another tune about spiritual dislocation.

Byrne in a suit

Leave a Reply

